Bridging Health & Community
Bringing Purpose To Community Engagement
Updates_02.jpg

Updates

News And Commentary

Community Power & Public Health: A Webinar

As part of our work to grow the field of practice linking community agency and health, we’ve been looking at what it might take for public health to adopt strategies that strengthen a community’s collective ability to make purposeful choices — its ‘agency’ — as a way to improve population health.

Whether it’s called collective agency or community power, in collaboration with Collaborative Consulting, and with support from The California Endowment, we explored a number of areas, including:

  • How public health currently understands the link between community power and health

  • What barriers proponents of community power have faced when trying to embrace it for population health, and how those barriers were overcome

  • How proponents of community power have messaged their work with different audiences

  • How people in public health consume information

  • And how organizations change, including the role of information

We did this by speaking with proponents of power building in California, Connecticut, Michigan, Minnesota and Wisconsin. We also reviewed the websites of 83 organizations in public health and community organizing, 32 reports of work that bridged power building and public health, and 17 reports examining how organizations change.

Join us on a webinar at which we’ll share what we learned. 

  • Date: Tuesday December 4th, 2018

  • Time: 9am Pacific; 10am Mountain; 11am Central; 12pm Eastern; 5pm GMT

  • Duration: 90 minutes

  • Title: Community Power & Public Health

  • Cost: Free

  • Presenters:

    • Dr Pritpal S Tamber, Bridging Health & Community

    • Lori Peterson, Collaborative Consulting

    • Welcome by Rachel Poulain, The California Endowment

  • Register here.

If you work in public health or community organizing, this webinar will provide an invaluable look at how the two fields can come together, including the realities of the challenge.

About The Presenting Organizations

Bridging Health & Community is a Seattle-based nonprofit that seeks to generate and share practice-based knowledge on what it takes for health care to genuinely partner with communities. Its work is informed by 12 Principles gleaned from the work of the many practitioners within the Creating Health Collaborative, an international group working on the basis of how people make sense of their lives, including their health.

Collaborative Consulting is a specialist consultancy at the heart of medical-social integration, working with leaders to design, implement and sustain cross-sector partnerships as a strategy to improve the system of health and healthcare.

The California Endowment launched a 10-year, $1 billion comprehensive community initiative in 2010 called Building Healthy Communities (BHC) designed to advance statewide policy, change the narrative, and build people power to transform 14 of California’s communities most devastated by health and racial inequities into places where all people have an opportunity to thrive.

PritpalComment